Welcome to Born of Lightning

loki-chris2

For many of you, at least initially, this will seem like something that is a long time coming. Some of you have been reading my ramblings, thoughts, rants and poetry for more years than I can remember and have been gently (and not so gently) nudging me to launch a real site where most of what I do can be centralized and reach a larger audience. And so, here it is.

Born of Lightning has several meanings and I want to thank Kim (Gypsy) for suggesting that I use it. The first reference is to my actual birth. I was born during the worst thunderstorm during the summer of 1969. The lights in Sewickley Hospital even flickered a couple of times while my mother was in labor. It was such an intense storm that my mother actually suggested that they name me Thor, but my dad would have none of it.

Secondly, a long time ago, I was in a severe automobile accident that nearly killed me, and in fact did for a period of time and it is only thanks to a very talented medic with a defibrillator that I am here at all. So while I was not born of lightning that time, I was perhaps reborn of it.

Because of my extensive injuries, for a while, I was hideous to look at, but still had my poet’s soul which led my surgeon and my dad to both draw parallels between me and the Frankenstein monster, who I became mildly obsessed with.

Thirdly, I am a bit of an electrical anomaly. Battery powered watches can survive maybe an hour on my wrist. If I try to use the self-checkout in the grocers, it will nine times out of ten involve the computer freezing, things unable to scan and multiple visits by a store employee who can never seem to understand why these things are happening. I am also often invisible to automatic doors. I have walked into them when they refused to open and sometimes need to let someone else go first so I can get through them.

Lastly, I once wrote a supernatural erotic novel called Born of Lightning that outlines a rather steamy affair between a vampire outcast and the Frankenstein creature, named Grigori in the story. The book has not yet been published but I am hopeful.

But beyond all of these reasons, I am hoping that you too will find an awakening with me. I believe that here in the stories, observances, challenges and experiences that I share that you may find something missing in yourselves and may be able to live bigger, louder and more fulfilling lives. I am making no claims, no promises, no predictions, but I am going on instinct here.

Born of Lightning will thrive on interaction, we will trade ideas, stories, experiences and we will above all be kind to each other. There is enough cruelty, callousness and ignorance out there already. So I am inviting you in, grab a cup of tea, relax and let the lightning touch you for a while.

 

 

Photo compliments and copyright Kim McClellan 2016

8 thoughts on “Welcome to Born of Lightning

  1. Congratulations! This has been a long time coming and I am very happy you finally decided to do this. I look forward seeing what you get up to. So exciting!

    Like

  2. I am so happy that you have opened your own page. I don’t want to miss a thing. Huge congrats to both of you; I love Kim’s photos. This is so exciting!

    Like

    • Sandy, I have been waiting and wanting this for so long, and I hope that this is able to grow and become something more than just a blog, I want to talk with the world from here! All my love my awesome friend!

      Like

  3. You have a very interesting history. I thought the Frankenstein reference was just of your own doing. It’s neat to learn differently. Publish that book! Out of the whole lot of us writers you are the one who should be out there. And you know that when that day comes – and it will come – that everyone knows your name, I will be right there with a big smile on my face and tears in my eyes saying, “I knew you could do it!” I am here with you, my friend. Ready to ride the lightening and continue learning from you. I think this is a wonderful idea!

    Like

Leave a Reply

